Provincial Government of Bulacan

Fernando issues EO
Christmas caroling, other similar activities, prohibited in Bulacan

CITY OF MALOLOS- The traditional Christmas caroling and other similar activities are prohibited in the meantime in Bulacan from December 16, 2020 to January 3, 2021 as stated in Executive Order No. 42, series of 2020 issued by Gov. Daniel R. Fernando to regulate Filipino Christmas traditions because of the current COVID-19 situation in the province.

He also temporarily banned Christmas or New Year parties and similar celebrations in any office of the Provincial Government of Bulacan and local government units in the province, and encouraged private companies, entities, and workplaces to do the same.

Meanwhile, Simbang Gabi or the dawn masses and other similar religious activities are allowed provided that the activities will comply with the provisions of IATF Omnibus Guidelines on the Implementation of Community Quarantine in the Philippines with Amendments as of December 14, 2020 on public gatherings.

Also, Fernando permitted family reunions and similar celebrations if minimum public health standards will be observed and such events will not be held in public places, establishments, or venues.

The governor cleared that the regulations on Christmas traditions that Bulakenyos grew up doing is in no way made to kill the spirit of Christmas but to further protect his province-mates on the hazards that may be brought by COVID-19.

“Batid ko po ang pagnanais nating lahat na maipagdiwang ang Pasko ng sama-sama lalo na ng ating pamilya, ngunit mas magiging masaya po tayo kung darating ang Kapaskuhan na tayo ay ligtas, malusog at kumpleto pa ring sasalubong sa Bagong Taon. Ang tanging magagawa po natin ngayon ay manalangin na sa papasok na taon, lubusan na nating magapi ang ating kalaban, ang COVID-19,” the governor said.

EO No. 42 is in addition to those contained on Executive Order No. 38, series of 2020 extending the Modified General Community Quarantine (MGCQ) in the Province of Bulacan from 01 until 31 December 2020.