Provincial Government of Bulacan

san ildefonso
Long before the arrival of the Spaniards in the Philippines, the town of San Ildefonso was known as Bulak. The early inhabitants called this town as such because of the abundant "kapok" trees (Bulak in vernacular) growing on the hill where the town proper is now situated.

Bulak was then a barrio of San Rafael. There were very few inhabitants numbering only about 3,000. The early inhabitants were people from neighboring towns and provinces that preferred to settle in this place because of the good prospect of agriculture.

When the Spaniards came, the name Bulak was changed to Hacienda San Juan de Dios because her 15,500 hectares of grazing and farming grounds were claimed by the friars. The people were told to pay tribute. Proceeds from the rentals were used to finance the operation of the San Juan de Dios Hospital in Manila. The Spanish friars though antagonistic towards the Filipinos, could not help admiring the beauty of the numerous natural scenarios God bestowed on the town. Because of their admiration, they changed the name Hacienda de San Juan de Dios to amore fitting one Hacienda Buenavista, a Spanish word which means beautiful scenery.

As the population grew, a chapel was constructed under the parochial jurisdiction of San Rafael. In 1809, Father Juan dela Rosa was named the first Filipino priest of the town. He held such position up to 1911. He was responsible for changing the Bulak to San Ildefonso in honor of Alfonso XII, then the King of Spain and San Ildefonso, its Patron Saint. By the time it was given this name, a tribunal was created finally making it a town in 1877. Between the periods 1905-1906, San Ildefonso was merged with San Miguel due to its low income and inability to finance its expenditures in operating the local government. \n\nAs year went by, more and more people were induced to live in the town. The growth of population promoted the increase of income. The town became capable of meeting its expenses so it consequently ceased being a barrio of San Miguel and became once again an independent town.

Fast Facts

Physical and Socio-Political

Land Area 16,281 has.
No. of Barangays 36
Population (2015) 104,471

Commerce and Industry

Major Industries:
Agricultural, Manufacturing

Major Products:
Bakeries and Sweet Preserves, Rice, High Value Crops, Marbles

Political Subdivision

San Ildefonso is politically subdivided into the following 36 barangays:

1. Akle
2. Alagao
3. Anyatam
4. Bagong Barrio
5. Basuit
6. Bubulong Malaki
7. Bubulong Munti
8. Buhol na Mangga
9. Bulusukan
10. Calasag
11. Calawitan
12. Casalat
13. Gabihan
14. Garlang
15. Lapnit
16. Maasim
17. Makapilapil
18. Malipampang
19. Mataas na Parang
20. Matimbubong
21. Nabaong Garlang
22. Palapala
23. Pasong Bangkal
24. Pinaod
25. Poblacion
26. Pulong Tamo
27. San Juan
28. Santa Catalina Bata
29. Santa Catalina Matanda
30. Sapang Dayap
31. Sapang Putik
32. Sapang Putol
33. Sumandig
34. Telapatio
35. Umpucan
36. Upig

Contact Information

Municipal Officials:
Mayor Paula Carla Galvez - Tan
Vice Mayor Rocky Galvez - Sarmiento

Mailing Address:
EnP. Henry Q. Concepcion
Municipal Planning and Development Office
Municipal Government of San Ildefonso, Bulacan
San Ildefonso, Bulacan 3010 Philippines

Contact Nos:
Tel. No.: +63(44) 326-2877 (MPDC)


Term: 2019-2022
Mayor Paula Carla Galvez-Tan
Vice Mayor Rocky G. Sarmiento
Coun. Genero N. Galvez
Coun. Jaycel C. Domingo
Coun. Virgilio V. Intacto
Coun. Eriberto B. Magbitang
Coun. Krizia Jewel V. Silverio
Coun. Fernando S. Galvez, Jr.
Coun. Christian V. Velarde
Coun. Edgardo R. Vergel

Term: 2016-2019
Mayor Paula Carla Galvez- Tan
Vice Mayor Luis T. Sarrondo
Coun. Alexander J. Galvez
Coun. Rocky G. Sarmiento
Coun. Eriberto B. Magbitang
Coun. Virgilio V. Intacto
Coun. Enriquie C. Villacorte
Coun. Roderick S. Salvador
Coun. Edgardo R. Vergel
Coun. Leonardo R. Cruz

Term: 2013-2016
Mayor Gerald J. Galvez
Vice Mayor Robert M. Miguel
Coun. Alexander J. Galvez
Coun. Eriberto B. Magbitang
Coun. Luis T. Sarrondo
Coun. Enrique C. Villacorte
Coun. Edgardo R. Vergel
Coun. Virgilio V. Intacto
Coun. Roderick S. Salvador
Coun. Rocky G. Sarmiento

Term: 2010-2013
Mayor Paula Carla G. Tan
Vice Mayor Rolando D. Centeno
Coun. Alexander J. Galvez
Coun. Robert M. Miguel
Coun. Sherwin V. Victorio
Coun. Enrique C. Villacorte
Coun. Luis T. Sarrondo
Coun. Roderick S. Salvador
Coun. Bonifacio M. Bade
Coun. Roel M. Valmadrid

San Ildefonso