Provincial Government of Bulacan

Before the coming of the Spaniards in 1521, Baliuag was just a wilderness inhabited mostly by animals and wild birds. There were no good and passable roads but only meandering pathways that invariable led to isolate huts. Some of these narrow pathways called "paraan", were fringed on both sides along with trees and other greenery's. Work animals and sleds that were then the only means of land transportation commonly passed the place.

The handful of people who occupied the isolated and lonely huts was paganistic people who worship spirits called "Bathala". They believed the spirits dwell in caves so in these caves they held rituals and made offerings of foods, perfumes and fruits to pay homage to them. These ancient Filipinos were so steeped in superstition that they religiously believed in divination, auguries and magic harms. Thus they always attached significance to such natural activities as the howling of dogs, the kissing of lizards or the mere sight of a black cat darting across their path to mean bad things and death omen. These superstitious beliefs were handed down from one generation to another and, are, in truth, still practiced in many parts of Baliuag today.

The natives, of course, had their own language and social customs. Not unlike their contemporaries in other towns, they conducted their own commercial activities through the so-called barter system.

With the Christianization of the Philippines, the Spaniairds built many Catholic churches. One of these churches was established in Quingwa (now Plaridel), of which Baliuag was still a "cabecerria" or barangay with no definite name. (Cabecerria or barangay is the modern-day barrio).

Because they had no other decent means transportation, the people either had to walk or had to ride a banca all the way to Quinwa, a distance of nine kilometers to hear masses on Sundays and feast days. As a consequence, the churchgoers from Baliuag often came late for mass. This habitual tardiness eventually became the butt of jokes among the people of Quinwa, so much so that whenever they saw a group of Baliuag folk coming, they would mockingly say; "Eto na ang maliliwag". (Here come the slow-folks). Or, if the later comer was all alone, "Eto na si Ba Liwag". ("Ba" is a provincial title of respect for a man).

Unfortunately, for the local folk, the uncomplimentary term "maliwag" (or Baliwag) stuck like glue. Even the Spanish "cura" was announcing it from the pulpit in reference to them. Through the years the name Baliuag evolved from it and by this name or appellation the town became known.

Baliuag was the 10th town founded by the Augustinians in the province of Bulacan.

Fast Facts

Physical and Socio-Political

Land Area 4,505 has.
No. of Barangays 27
Population (2015) 149,954

Commerce and Industry

Major Industries:
Agriculture, Trade and Industry, Professional

Major Products:
Bakeries, Native Delicacies

Political Subdivision

Baliuag is politically subdivided into the following 27 barangays:

1. Bagong Nayon
2. Barangca
3. Calantipay
4. Catulinan
5. Concepcion
6. Hinukay
7. Makinabang
8. Matang Tubig
9. Pagala
10. Paitan
11. Piel
12. Pinagbarilan
13. Poblacion
14. Sabang
15. San Jose
16. San Roque
17. Santa Barbara
18. Santo Cristo
19. Santo Niño
20. Subic
21. Sulivan
22. Tangos
23. Tarcan
24. Tiaong
25. Tibag
26. Tilapayong
27. Virgen delos Flores

Contact Information

Municipal Officials:
Mayor Ferdinand V. Estrella
Vice Mayor Christopher F. Clemente

Mailing Address:
Engr. Nemencio M. de Leon
Municipal Planning and Development Office
Municipal Government of Baliuag, Bulacan
Baliuag, Bulacan 3006 Philippines

Contact Nos:
Tel. No.: +63(44) 766-6394; 761-1534 (MPDC)


Term: 2019-2022
Mayor Ferdinand V. Estrella
Vice Mayor Christopher F. Clemente
Coun. Marie Claudette Q. Serrano
Coun. Enrique V. Dela Cruz
Coun. Lee Edward V. Nicolas
Coun. Maria Isabel P. Librero
Coun. Wilfredo A. Lapira
Coun. Lowell C. Tagle
Coun. Antonio S Patawaran
Coun. Rodrigo E. Baltazar

Term: 2016-2019
Mayor Ferdinand Estrella
Vice Mayor Christopher F. Clemente
Coun. Marie Claudette S. Quimpo
Coun. Joel Noel S. Pascual
Coun. Wilfredo A. Lapira
Coun. Emmanuel T. Balicanta
Coun. Adronicus O. Cruz
Coun. Lee Edward V. Nicolas
Coun. Erlene Luz V. dela Ceuz
Coun. Generoso S. Ligon

Term: 2013-2016
Mayor Carolina L. Dellosa
Vice Mayor Christopher F. Clemente
Coun. Jose Noel S. Pascual
Coun. Andronicus O. Cruz
Coun. Wilfredo A. Lapira
Coun. Emmanuel T. Balicanta
Coun. Marie Claudette P. Quimpo
Coun. Lee Edward V. Nicolas
Coun. Generoso S. Ligon
Coun. Roberto Santos

Term: 2010-2013
Mayor Romeo M. Estrella
Vice Mayor Antonio S. Patawaran
Coun. Jose Noel S. Pascual
Coun. Emmanuel T. Balicanta
Coun. Carolina L. Dellosa
Coun. Romeo P. Taruc
Coun. Reynaldo M. Trinidad
Coun. Dionisio O. Agtarap
Coun. Andronicus O. Cruz
Coun. Carolyn S. Santiago