Provincial Government of Bulacan

Bulacan’s Singkaban Festival receives ATOP-DOT Pearl Award

CITY OF MALOLOS – The colorful celebration of Bulacan’s diverse culture and arts better known as Singkaban Festival has been awarded by the Department of Tourism (DOT) and Association of Tourism Officers of The Philippines (ATOP) as this year’s Pearl Awardee for Best Tourism Month/Weeklong Celebration – provincial category in the ATOP-DOT Best Tourism Practices of the Philippines Awards 2016 held at the Royce Hotel, Clarkfield, Pampanga yesterday.

The province was chosen as the recipient of the award because of the exceptional implementation of programs and activities of the Provincial History, Arts, Culture and Tourism Office (PHACTO) that promoted the cultural legacies of Bulacan as the home of talents, artistry and uniqueness in preserving its history.

“It’s a great honor for our province to receive this kind of recognition and we will continue to promote the culture and the best arts of Bulacan through effective programs that will showcase the uniqueness of the Bulakenyo culture, as well as the wonderful tourism of our province,” PHACTO Head Dr. Eliseo Dela Cruz said.

The Provincial Government of Bulacan (PGB) was also applauded for its continuous and unrelenting efforts in boosting its tourism industry and for preserving its rich cultural history despite of modernization and development.

Gov. Wilhelmino M. Sy-Alvarado said that the award is a clear manifestation of the commendable efforts of the PGB in the promotion of intercultural understanding and appreciation of the wonderful tourist attractions in Bulacan through the celebration of Singkaban Festival.

Moreover, other festivities in the province were also recognized including the Kneeling Carabao Fiesta of Plaridel as Best Festival under the municipality level and the Fiesta Republika of the City of Malolos as 1st runner up for Best Festival under the city level.

The Best Tourism Practices of the Philippines Awards is an annual awards conducted by ATOP and DOT that honors great efforts made by the people in the tourism industry, most especially the local government units in preserving their respective cultural history.