Provincial Government of Bulacan

Senator Zubiri promotes self-help among cooperatives

BEST SMALL SCALE COOPERATIVE. Chairman of the Committee on Cooperatives Senator Juan Miguel F. Zubiri and Gov. Wilhelmino M. Sy-Alvarado confer the ceremonial check worth P80,000 and a trophy to Ricardo Cruz and Alberto Canoza , chairperson and vice chairman of the Umpucan Palay and Vegetable Farmer Multipurpose Cooperative from San Ildefonso for being awarded as the Gawad Galing Kooperatiba 2017 (Small Scale Category) during the Gawad Galing Kooperatiba 2017 Awarding Ceremony held at The Pavilion Hiyas ng Bulacan Convention Center, City of Malolos, Bulacan, Friday morning. Also in the photo are (from left) Regional Director Marietta Hwang, CDA-RO3 and Board Member Allan Ray Baluyut, Committee on Cooperatives chairperson.

CITY OF MALOLOS – Senator Juan Miguel Zubiri urged successful cooperatives to help smaller coops so that they will also grow big and make a big contribution in building a strong and stable economy during the Gawad Galing Kooperatiba 2017 held at The Pavilion Hiyas ng Bulacan Convention Center in this city earlier today.

The Senate Committee on Cooperatives Chairman said that cooperatives are the backbone of economic boom in rural areas and contributes to the growth and development of the country.

He also pledged his support on the bill vying to make Bulacan the ‘Cooperative Capital of the Philippines’.

“In terms of number of cooperatives, in terms of size of cooperatives, in terms of membership, in terms of income and millionaire coops, nandito po lahat sa Bulacan. It’s more fun in Bulacan,” the senator added.

For his part, Gov. Wilhelmino M. Sy-Alvarado acknowledged the efforts of the cooperatives to reach out and help the less fortunate Bulakenyos.

“Ang mga kooperatiba ang numero unong nagbibigay ng tulong sa ating mga kalalawigan na may mahigpit na pangangailangan. Sa pamamagitan nito, nagkakaroon tayo ng bayanihan at pagtutulungan na higit na kailangan sa ating mga pamayanan,” Alvarado said.

Meanwhile, Samahang Kapatirang Kababaihan ng Pulilan Multi-Purpose Cooperative won the 2017 Gawad Galing Kooperatiba-Medium Scale Category while Umpucan Palay and Vegetable Farmers Multi-Purpose Cooperative won in the Small-Scale Category and each received P80,000 cash prize and a trophy.

Also, Municipal Cooperative Development Council-Pandi bagged the 2017 Gawad Galing Coop Council and took home P50,000 cash prize and trophy; Jon Louie F. Santiago was hailed the 2017 Gawad Galing Coop Officer and went home with P30,000 cash prize and trophy; and the 2017 Gawad Galing Coop Leader award was given to Richard E. Avena with P30,000 cash prize and trophy.

Trailblazing Awards were also awarded to Danilo G. Rivera for Gawad Galing Coop Leader, Municipal Cooperative Development Council-Marilao for Gawad Galing Coop Council and Meycauayan City Government Employees Multi-Purpose Cooperative for Gawad Galing Kooperatiba-Small Scale Category. Each received trophy and P20,000, P30,000 and P60,000 respectively.

The Provincial Government of Bulacan (PGB) through the Provincial Cooperative Enterprise Development Office (PCEDO) also gave ‘Gawad Pagkilala’ to Central Luzon Regional League of the Philippines Federation of Credit Cooperatives, Sto, Niño de Parada Multi-Purpose Cooperative, Sto. Rosario Arba Multi-Purpose Cooperative, Palanas Multi-Purpose Cooperative, Manatal Multi-Purpose Cooperative, Ligas Kooperatiba ng Bayan sa Pagpapaunlad, Catmon Multi-Purpose Cooperative, St. Martin of Tours Credit and Development Cooperative, San Jose del Monte Savings and Credit Cooperative and Municipal Cooperative Development Office-Marilao for winning regional, national and international cooperative awards.

In addition, Special Citations and P10,000 cash prize were given to Mahabang Parang Waterworks Cooperative of Santa Maria, Pananaw Sandigan Multi-Purpose Cooperative of Pandi, San Isidro-San Roque Credit Cooperative of the City of Meycauayan, Calumpit Responsible Entrepreneurs Savings and Credit Cooperative of Calumpit, Catholic Servants of Christ Community Multi-Purpose Cooperative of Baliwag, Greater Bulacan Livelihood Development Cooperative of Baliwag, NIA-Region 3 Multi-Purpose Cooperative of San Rafael, Our Lady of Salambao Multi-Purpose Cooperative of Obando, Paschal Multi-Purpose Cooperative of Pandi, Sapang Palay National High School Multi-Purpose Cooperative of the City of San Jose del Monte, Sta. Monica of Bustos Multi-Purpose Cooperative,
Tibagan Multi-Purpose Cooperative of Bustos, Bagong Barrio Multi-Purpose Cooperative of Pandi, Divine Mercy Shrine Multi-Purpose Cooperative of Marilao and Palayan sa Nayon Multi-Purpose Cooperative of the City of Malolos.

Gawad Galing Kooperatiba is the highlight of Bulacan’s month-long celebration of the Cooperative Month in accordance with Presidential Proclamation No. 493, s. 2003 and Provincial Resolution No. 449.