Provincial Government of Bulacan

House Speaker GMA joins Bulakenyos in the 121st Anniversary of PH Independence

CITY OF MALOLOS – Thousands of Bulakenyos will be joined by House Speaker Gloria Macapagal Arroyo in the 121st Anniversary of the Declaration of Philippine Independence at the historic Barasoain Church here on June 12, 2019 at 8 am.

This year’s commemoration is anchored on the theme “Kalayaan 2019: Tapang ng Bayan, Malasakit sa Mamamayan”.

Arroyo, the guest of honor, will join Bulacan officials headed by Gov. Wilhelmino M. Sy-Alvarado and Vice Gov. Daniel R. Fernando in the program that will start with the flag raising ceremony and will be followed by the oath to the national flag and wreath laying ceremony at the statue of Gen. Emilio Aguinaldo, who was recognized as the first ad youngest President of the Philippines.

Other guests who will join the commemoration include Mrs. Rosario V. Sapitan, who will represent Director Ludovico Badoy of the National Historical Commission of the Philippines (NHCP) as well as the employees of the PGB, barangay officials, workers and volunteers, senior citizens, students, teachers, non-government organizations, PNP Bulacan and the media among others.

Alvarado encourages all the Bulakenyos to participate in the activity and join the thousands in attendance in reliving and celebrating the heroic deeds of our Filipino ancestors who fought bravely to achieve sovereignty.

“Minsan lamang po sa isang taon natin gugunitain ang mga hindi matatawarang ambag at sakripisyo ng ating mga bayani para tayo ay maging isang malayang bansa. Nawa po ay makaisa naming kayo sa pagbibigay pugay sa kanila at sa pag-aalaala kung paanong natamo ng mga Pilipino ang kasarinlan,” Alvarado said.

Independence Day (Araw ng Kalayaan) is an annual holiday in the Philippines observed every June 12 as a commemoration of the Philippine Declaration of Independence from Spain on June 12, 1898. It is in accordance with Proclamation No. 28, s. 1962 or “Declaring June 12 as Philippine Independence Day” signed by former President Diosdado Macapagal.