Provincial Government of Bulacan

DOJ Sec De Lima to grace the 117th Anniversary of Malolos Congress

CITY OF MALOLOS – Nationalistic spirit will fill the patio of the historical Barasoain Church as thousands of Bulakenyos together with Department of Justice Secretary Leila De Lima commemorate the 117th Anniversary of Malolos Congress on September 15, 2015 at 7:00 in the morning as one of the highlights in the weeklong festivities of Singkaban Festival 2015.

Gov. Wilhelmino M. Sy-Alvarado said that the revolutionary Congress of Malolos or the Philippine Constitution which played a significant role in the country’s struggle for freedom, should not be forgotten and should remain in the minds and hearts of the Filipinos especially the younger generations.

“Sama-sama nating tuparin ang pangarap ng unang konstitusyon ng Pilipinas na ipinanganak sa makasaysayang simbahan ng Barasoain. Hindi tayo titigil sa pagwagayway ng tagumpay ng mga pangyayaring bumago sa kasaysayan ng buong bansa,” Alvarado said.

The governor and DOJ secretary together with National Historical Commission of the Philippines (NHCP) Executive Director Ludovico Badoy, Vice Gov. Daniel Fernando, district representatives of Bulacan and Mayor Christian Natividad will lead the wreath laying ceremony at the statue of Gen. Emilio Aguinaldo for the latter’s contribution as the president of the First Philippine Republic.

Other invited guests are senior citizens, students, teachers, non-government organizations, and other sectors in Bulacan.

Prior to the commemorative celebration, PGB and the Pambansang Komisyong Pangkasaysyan ng Pilipinas conducted a mini concert dubbed as “Himigsikan: Konsierto para sa Anibersaryo ng Unang Kongreso ng Malolos,” that showcased the talents of Bulakenyo artists last August 28, 2015 held at the patio of Barasoain Church.

To seal the weeklong celebration of the diverse culture and best of the arts of Bulacan, the annual Dangal ng Lipi Awards which recognizes outstanding Bulakenyos in different fields of endeavor will be held at 7 p.m. at the Hiyas Pavilion.