Provincial Government of Bulacan

Bulacan’s newly elected local legislators to conduct inaugural session

CITY OF MALOLOS — A new set of legislators will open the 9th Sangguniang Panlalawigan (SP) on July 7, at 1:30 in the afternoon at the Bulwagang Senador Benigno S. Aquino Jr., Capitol Building in this city.

Third termer Vice Gov. Daniel R. Fernando, who is also the Presiding Officer, said that the new set of legislators vowed to continue the quality service and good performance that has been demonstrated by the former 8th SP.

“As we bid goodbye to the 8th SP, we can say that it is one of the most historic and filled with significant accomplishments that benefited our fellow Bulakenyos. Nakapagsagawa tayo ng maraming pagpupulong, nakapagpatibay ng iba’t ibang ordinansang naglalayong lumutas sa suliranin ng mga Bulakenyo. Patuloy tayong magsusumikap na maglingkod para sa ikauunlad ng ating lalawigan,” Fernando said.

Aside from the introduction of the new members of the SP, Gov. Wilhelmino M. Sy Alvarado, also on his third term, is expected to deliver his State of the Province Address (SOPA), as well as his strategic agenda for Bulacan to achieve a more sustainable and progressive development.

“From this, the Sangguniang Panlalawigan, for its part, will formulate its own legislative agenda in support to the provincial chief executive’s aims and visions,” Fernando said.

He also added that they will discuss the internal rules of procedures and come up with the new Senior Board Member, Majority Floor Leader and Minority Floor Leader.

“The senior board membership is determined and given to the candidate who garnered the highest percentage of the total vote divided by the number of votes cast for the position in the district concerned, while the majority and minority floor leaders were chosen or appointed by the majority and minority blocks in the Sanggunian,” the Vice Governor added.

The 9th SP composed of third termers including First District- Board Members Therese Cheryll B. Ople and Board Member Felix V. Ople; Second District- Enrique V. Dela Cruz, Jr.; Third District – Board Member Rino V. Castro and Fourth District – Allan Ray A. Baluyut.

The new elected local legislators who will complete the 9th SP are Board Members Allan P. Andan of First District, Ma. Lourdes Posadas of Second District, Emelita Isidro-Viceo of Third District, Alexis C. Castro and Perlita Delos Santos of Fourth District.

Meanwhile, two Ex-Officio members of the 8th SP, namely Board Member Josef Andrew T. Mendoza, provincial president of the Philippine Councilors League (PCL)-Bulacan Chapter, who won as councilor of Bocaue for his second term, and Board Member Mark Cholo I. Violago, provincial president of the Liga ng mga Barangay who did not run in the just-concluded election, will stay as members of the 9th SP.