Provincial Government of Bulacan

Bulacan under MECQ until May 31

CITY OF MALOLOS – The Province of Bulacan is placed under Modified Enhanced Community Quarantine (MECQ) starting today, May 16 until the end of the month, May 31, 2020 following Governor Daniel R. Fernando’s appeal to the Inter-Agency Task Force’s (IATF) decision to transition the whole Central Luzon to the General Community Quarantine.

On May 13, Fernando, together with other Region 3 provinces, wrote to the Regional IATF to reconsider its decision citing that the province is still waiting for 746 pending test results and 1,320 cases for swabbing with a total of 2,046 cases.

Last night, the National IATF issued Resolution No. 37, series of 2020 stating that transitioning high-risk provinces, HUCs, and ICCs including Bulacan, Bataan, Nueva Ecija, Pampanga, Zambales, Angeles City and Laguna shall be placed under MECQ. The resolution was signed by Department of Health Secretary and IATF Chairperson Francisco T. Duque III and Cabinet Secretary and IATF Co-Chairperson Karlo Alexei B. Nograles.

Fernando said that action was taken as a precautionary measure to protect the Bulakenyos from the further spread of the Coronavirus Disease 2019.

“Naiintindihan po namin na marami sa atin ang naghahangad na makalaya na at makabalik sa ating mga gawain matapos manatili sa ating mga tahanan sa loob ng dalawang buwan. Dama ko po ang hirap at pagtitiis ng ating mga kababaya. Gusto lamang po nating masigurado na ang sandali nating kalayaan ay hindi magdudulot ng malaking kapahamakan sa bawat isa sa atin,” the governor said.

Under MECQ, minimum health standards including limited movement within zone for obtaining essential services and work; operation of selected manufacturing and processing plants up to maximum of 50 percent workforce; limited transporting services for essential goods and services; and suspension of physical classes shall be complied all the time.