Provincial Government of Bulacan

Bulacan to award most innovative library programs and services

CITY OF MALOLOS- In line with the 31st Library and Information Services Month, the Provincial Government of Bulacan through the Provincial History, Arts, Culture and Tourism Office (PHACTO) will recognize and post the 2020 winners of the Most Innovative Library Programs and Services for the New Normal via BULACAN History and Heritage Facebook Page from November 15-19, 2021.

The winners include Bulacan State University, first place; Gaya-Gaya Elementary School Library, second place; Muzon National High School Library, third place; and three consolation prizes for Bagong Buhay Elementary School Library, Plaridel Municipal Library, Baliwag Municipal Library.

They will receive a trophy and cash prize of P10,000, P7,500, P5,000 and P3,000 each respectively.

Governor Daniel R. Fernando said libraries like museums preserve the province’s history and heritage and is crucial in shaping Bulakenyos love for its own culture, history and environment and the province itself.

“Kayo po ang mga institusyong nag-iingat sa mga katibayan at pamana mula sa mga kwento ng pakikibaka at tagumpay ng ating bayaning lahi. Mula sa mga ito tayo ay humuhugot ng aral, lakas at katatagan para sa pagharap sa mga hamon ng kasalukuyan, at pinapahalagahan po natin ang inyong kontribusyon sa pagpukaw ng kamalayang makabayan ng mga Bulakenyo,” Fernando said.

According to Dr. Eliseo dela Cruz, head of PHACTO, the search was opened to all local government run libraries, public school libraries and state and local university and college libraries throughout the province with innovative programs during the pandemic from March to December 2020.

The criteria for judging were 50% for innovation, 30% for impact and 20% for resourcefulness and they needed to submit the requirements including endorsement letter, two-paged history and description of the library, description with photographs of innovative library program for the new normal setting and a three-minute audio visual presentation.

Moreover, due to the pandemic, the awarding for the 2019 inclusive, innovative, interconnected library programs and services winners that was supposed to be awarded last year was postponed and will also be held this month. The scope was from March to December 2019.

The 2019 awardees were Bulacan State University, grand winner; Sapang Palay National Highschool-Senior Highschool Library, 1st runner up; Gaya-Gaya Elementary School Library, 2nd runner up; Plaridel Municipal Library, 3rd runner up; and consolation prizes for Baliwag Polytechnic College Library, Assemblywoman Felicita G. Bernardo Memorial Trade School Poncher Library and Bagong Buhay Elementary School Library.

They will receive a trophy and cash prize worth P30,000, P20,000, P15,000, P10,000, and P5,000 respectively.

Winners were judged according to library programs 65%, library services 10%, Bulacañana collection 15% and participation to provincial library programs 10% which reflected on their submitted documents.

Prior to this, PHACTO with National Historical Commission of the Philippines-Bulacan Chapter and Samahan ng mga Museo sa Bulacan, conducted a webinar on Basic Handling and Preservation Techniques of Paintings and Museum Artifacts via zoom last November 5, 2021. ###