Provincial Government of Bulacan

Bulacan ends Cooperative Month, cites outstanding cooperatives

OUTSTANDING COOP OFFICER. Gov. Wilhelmino M. Sy-Alvarado together with Vice Gov. Daniel R. Fernando confers the trophy and cash incentive amounting to P30,000 to Jon Louie Santiago, Municipal Cooperative Development Officer of Marilao, for being awarded as the Gawad Galing Coop Officer in the recently concluded Gawad Galing Kooperatiba 2016 held at The Pavilion, Hiyas ng Bulacan Convention Center, City of Malolos, Bulacan. Also in the photo are Board Members Therese Cheryll Ople of District 1 and Allan Rey Baluyot of District IV, Cooperative Development Authority Regional Director Marietta Wang, Mayor Juanito Santiago of Marilao, Bulacan, and Department of Public Works and Highways Program Director Jose Gabriel.

CITY OF MALOLOS – The Provincial Government of Bulacan (PGB) through the Provincial Cooperative and Economic Development Office (PCEDO) has once again recognized outstanding cooperatives with notable contributions in the economic development of the province during the recently concluded Gawad Galing Kooperatiba 2016 held at The Pavilion, Hiyas ng Bulacan Convention Center in this city.

With the theme “Bulacan Cooperative: Exceeding Limits. Sustaining Excellence,” the awarding ceremony, which is part of the culminating activity of the Cooperative Month, honored 29 cooperatives that continue to exhibit cooperative advancement in their areas of operation.

Two cooperatives from the town of Pandi including the Bagong Barrio Multi-Purpose Coop and Paschal Multi-Purpose Coop were hailed as the Gawad Galing Kooperatiba Awardees in Large and Medium-Scale Category while the Umpucan Palay and Vegetable Farmers Multi-Purpose Coop from San Ildefonso was cited as the Gawad Galing Kooperatiba Awardee in Small-Scale Category.

In the individual category, Danilo Rivera of Bagong Barrio Multi Purpose Coop bagged the Gawad Galing Pook Leader Award while Jon Louie Santiago of Mcdo Marilao hailed as the Gawad Galing Coop Officer because of their admirable cooperative and quality services.

Moreover, two credit cooperatives from Meycauayan namely Parish Coop of St. Francis of Assisi Meycauayan Credit and Development and Sto. Niño Meycauayan Savings and Credit Coop received the Coop Award for Continuing Excellence because of their commendable provision of livelihood resources to the small and medium enterprises.

The three-straight wins of Sto. Niño De Parada Multi-Purpose Coop of Santa Maria also paid off and was recognized as Gawad Galing Coop Hall of Fame Awardee while the Municipal Coop Development Council of Pandi was awarded the Gawad Galing Coop Council.

Meanwhile, Gov. Wilhelmino M. Sy-Alvarado congratulated the winners and said that it is necessary to acknowledge the contribution of organizations that are the government’s partners in economic development.

“Malaki ang naitutulong ng mga kooperatiba sa mga Bulakenyo at ito ang gusto nating iparamdam sa kanila, na mahalaga sila sa ekonomiya, na mahalaga sila hindi lang sa mga miyembro nila kundi sa kabuuang pag-unlad ng Bulacan,” Alvarado said.

The province, which is known as the Cooperative Capital of Central Luzon, was also recently hailed as the Best Performing Local Government Unit in Cooperative Development Office by the Cooperative Development Authority because of its commendable cooperative support and services to MSEs.