Official Website of the Provincial Goverment of Bulacan





I. Historical Background

A. Legal Basis

Republic Act No. 7160, otherwise known as the Local Government Code of 1991 guarantees and promotes the autonomy of local government units and ensures their fullest development as self-reliant communities and effective partners in development and progress.

The code encourages Local Government Units to engage in ventures other than their traditional mandate in pursuance of genuine people empowerment.

The provincial government of Bulacan, realizing the potential of its human resource whose literacy rate is already 98% in 1989 endeavored to develop an alternative tertiary institution for the less privileged Bulakeno. The result of these efforts is the Bulacan Polytechnic College (BPC).

Republic Ac No. 7796 also known as the Technical Education and Skills development Act of 1994 mandates the development of tertiary education for human resource capability building and encourages private and public sector partnership in developing tertiary education.

The provincial government of Bulacan, in a move to further institutionalize the development mission of the BPC approved its charter on September 29, 1997 by virtue of Sangguniang Panlalawigan Resolution No. 97-550. This further defined the purpose of providing vocational and technical instruction and training in entrepreneurship and technical education. This also gave the college a corporate identity and defined the existence of a Board of Trustees composed of the following:

1. Provincial Governor

- Chairman

2. College President

- Vice-Chairman

3. Sangguniang Panlalawigan Chairman of the Committee of Education

- Member

4. President of the Bulacan State University

- Member

5. TESDA Provincial Director

- Member

6. President of BPC Alumni Association

- Member

7. Two (2) Prominent Citizens

- Members

8. Provincial Youth Sports Employment Arts and Culture Office Head

- Member

9. DepEd Superintendent of Bulacan

- Member

B. History

The Present Bulacan Polytechnic College (BPC) was originally known as the Bulacan Public Community College (BPCC). It was established upon the approval of the Secretary of Education on June 8,1971 and started its operations in 1972. With a total of 44 enrollees, two courses were initially offered from 1972 to 1974; the two-year Junior Secretarial Course with 15 students and the General Education Course with 29 students. From 1975 to 1993, there were no enrollees to the General Education Course. Between these years the Steno-typing Course was offered instead. In 1994, due to low enrollees turnout both General Education and stenotyping courses were phased out. The Advent of computer technology in the early 90’s and the need to respond to the academic requirements of the labor market necessitated the inclusion of Basic Computer Literacy in the curriculum in 1994.

The Bulacan Public Community College (BPCC) was renamed Bulacan Polytechnic College (BPC) by virtue of Sangguniang Panlalawigan Resolution No. 97-550, dated September 29, 1997. Consequently, it was authorized by the Technical Education Skills Development Authority (TESDA) to offer the two-year Computer Secretarial, the two-year Computer Technician, and the two-year Entrepreneurship in Business Technology through the TESDA Order No. 60.s. 1997, issued on November 24, 1997.

The current make-up of the BPC Board of Trustees:

Chairman of the Board

Governor Wilhelmino M. Sy-Alvarado

Vice Chairman of the Board

Dr. Romeo D.C. Inasoria

Board Member

Board Member Michael C. Fermin

Board Member

Dr. Mariano C. De Jesus

Board Member

Dr. Caridad O. Abuan, CESO III

Board Member

Dir. Teodoro M. Gatchalian

Board Member

Mrs. Norma Luarca

Board Member Fr. Dennis Espejo
Board Member Mrs. Elizabeth L. Alonzo

Board Member

Dr. Romeo M. Alip, CESO V

Board Member

Mr. Raul V. Mendoza

Board Member

Dr. Danilo Faustino

Board Member

Engr. Mauro C. Tolentino

Board Member

Mr. Ernesto Milo

Copyright © 2004
Web Development Division,
Provincial Information Technology Office - PITO,
Provincial Government of Bulacan.
All rights reserved.